Read

Romans 8:18-25 – “I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. For the creation waits in eager expectation for the children of God to be revealed. For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the freedom and glory of the children of God. We know that the whole creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time. Not only so, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for our adoption to sonship, the redemption of our bodies. For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what they already have? But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.

Examine

Last night was one of the greatest storm event tragedies in our state’s history. The death toll continues to mount as the first stages of cleanup get underway. I can only imagine that there is little or no comfort today for all those who have lost homes, possessions, and even loved ones in the storm. I have already heard theological debates about God’s role of “cause” or “allow,” as well as His motivation for either. Paul was writing to people suffering as well, maybe in different ways and for different reasons, but suffering nonetheless. He doesn’t argue God’s implicit or complicit involvement here. He simply holds up a comparison – suffering now against the glory that awaits us when our redemption is complete.

Reading this stuff about creation groaning, under bondage, out of sync with God’s original intent, and rebelling against its human subduers brings to mind the images we watched last night on the TV both during and after the storm. You could see the fury and the anger of slaves rising up in rebellion and hear the roar of freedom’s cry. Our souls, as well, utter that same cry to God. “Set us free from this pain and suffering. Set things right, the way You, God, intended them to be and have promised they will be again.”

Today, there is little comfort for so many in all of this. But somewhere … deep down … there is hope. Hope that one day there will be no more pain, no more suffering. Of any kind. Hope that what God has promised, He will perform. So we wait. Patiently we wait.

Apply –

Do I really believe that the glory ahead that I can’t see is worth suffering the pains this life brings? I can almost assure you my life doesn’t always (if ever) reflect that.

When I encounter suffering, do I look around or look ahead and upward?

I know I have to wait. The questions is am I willing to?

Do I pray for God to make this life easier or to make the next life more glorious?

Pray – 

God, I cannot imagine how these families who have lost so much are getting through this today. I cannot fathom why you would not have spared them this. I cannot grasp any sense of purpose or greater glory for You in such destruction and pain.

I can only try to be your hands and feet. We can only try to be your “body” and respond to the need. Help us to do that, even as we join these affected by this in clinging to the hope that comes from Your promise that one day this world will be righted, that our salvation will be completed, that the final defeat of sin and death will be realized, and that You will be glorified in the completion of your redemptive work for us.

Teach me to be patient and not to be angry with You. Teach me to weigh the pain of now and the glory that awaits us. Give me a fresh sense of hope today. Amen.